Posted in Running and physical health, Self Help

Still running

I’m still full of energy which is pretty frustrating considering the horrific rain going on outside right now. I didn’t go for a run Thursday as the rain was pretty torrential. Nor did I go last night and boy did I pay for it. I couldn’t sleep last night (again) and I woke up around 6:30. After spending the next 45 mins trying to get back to sleep I decided to get up, put some comfortable gear on and go for another run. I went out the door about 7:30 and got back just before 8:00.

Despite this only being my third, I’m feeling stronger already. I followed the exact same route I did on my previous two trips and I think the amount of time I was actually running (compared to easing off into a brisk walk/march) definitely increased. My legs are also not feeling the pinch as they had a couple of nights ago. I guess I’m getting used to it already. I’m even contemplating going out for a second time tonight. Conscious of the fact that I do not want to overdo it, my restlessness at being stuck inside during another crappy cold and wet July day is putting me on edge. I have to get out tomorrow, even if it is only going for a long drive somewhere. I doubt the weather is going to be good enough to cycle anywhere though.

I’m stil at a total loss for where all of this energy is coming from. It could be general restlessness at the mental inertia and lack of movement on the job front and therefore my inability to move out and therefore my inability to begin divorce proceedings (not to mention frustration with the job I have and how soul-destroying I now find it). Usually, such frustration has led to me feeling low. I’m not getting any of that. I’m not even sure that the desire to run has anything to do with my desire to lose weight and get fitter – as I said before, there are exercise activities I find far more enjoyable than running.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

