Posted in Dating / Relationships, Self Esteem

Out of the bag – confessed romatic feelings

The cat is out of the bag. I told Miss X everything. This I did on the advice of and discussion with my therapist who suggested I might feel awful if I did not say anything. She said that some of her behaviour toward me had clearly been flirtatious.

I told Miss X that I had had a crush on her for ten years, that I felt low when she told me about the other guy and that I’ve been wanting to tell her for ages but couldn’t quite bring myself to do it.

She was wonderful about it. I’m her “best friend” and that’s what works for her between us. She thinks the world of me and our friendship. She trusts me implicitly and says I’m one of the sweetest, nicest, kindest most support men she has ever met.

Lovely to hear but… triple shit.

Well, at least I know now. I can move on with my life in one small part – though not the part I had hoped. Onto the next one who’ll put me in the friendzone :p

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Out of the bag – confessed romatic feelings

  1. This was a huge step for you and you should give yourself credit for that. Well done – your actions were incredibly brave, honest and genuine, regardless of the outcome.

    1. Thanks! I felt relieved at the time. A little odd though that this crush of ten years(!) is finally out in the open. It was not something I ever thought I would get to tell her. But then, a year ago before my marriage broke down I never thought that we would ever meet.

Leave a Reply

