Posted in Dating / Relationships

Physical attraction

What is it that attracts us to people? Good looks, personality, a combination of the two or something indefinable that is irrelevant to those things? For me, it is a mix of physical attraction and personal qualities, though mostly personality. Whether we like to admit it or not, we all (men and women) are attracted to certain attributes. I prefer striking features over typical ideals of beauty. Remember how Nicola Roberts was described as the “the ugly one” is Girls Aloud? Not to me she wasn’t; on the contrary I always found her the most attractive because she will always stand out in a crowd.

For me, there are three main features that I’m attracted to.

Hair.

Long dark curls
Redheads

Eyes.

Eyes big and wide – any colour

My first bit of advice to women is never to underestimate the importance of your eyes to how much a guy can/will fancy you. Be expressive, the eyes after all are the windows to the soul.

Smile.

Warm smiles are best but coy can be sexy!

The most important one of all ladies. My second bit of advice to women – you always without fail look better when you smile so drop the stupid duckfaced lemon sucking pout 😉

Sometimes though I can feel attraction toward somebody and be completely unable to explain why. They might not physically be my type, I might know next to nothing about their character but I’m attracted to them as they have a certain je ne sais quois. It could be a twinkle in their eye or the sound of their voice or nothing specific. In the past I have had some female friends who I thought were beautiful but toward whom I felt zero attraction. On the flip side I have known women who I thought were ordinary looking yet I developed major crushes on them.

Physical attraction is complicated and not always as clear cut as we think, even when we think we have a specific type we can be blindsided.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

