Posted in Running and physical health

I’ve reached my first weight loss target!

Current weight 15st 2lb

 

I have now officially lost my first stone. I weighed myself at the beginning of July and I was 16st 2lb. I am now 15st 2lb, the lightest I’ve been for 3 years. Go me! I know that this is where the weight actually lost will begin to slow down as my body stops losing retained water and builds muscle. I’m expecting 1-2lb per week on average from here but I know that I will shrink into clothes that haven’t fit me for a long time.

I have snacked only when peckish, cut out those desserts that have often been aggressively pushed at me (I’m not kidding about the “aggressive” bit. Mother in law has dessert every dinner time and most lunch times and she expects everybody else to have one too – sulking when refused and making sarcastic comments) and eating sensible sized portions. If there is too much on my plate, I stop eating. As a result, my stomach seems to be shrinking as I can no longer finish the same size meals. I’m eating normal food, not bothering with low fat this or that. I don’t think a major overhaul of my diet was necessary, just simple and effective changes.

And of course, running 3-4 times per week has played a major part in this. I haven’t been strict about anything other than ensuring I run at least three times per week and do what I’m comfortable with, make the journey slightly longer (or increase the run-walk ratio) as I progress.

I’m looking better (though I have a long way to go – I want to lose another 2st), my face and neck are definitely thinner. Work shirts that I couldn’t get around my neck three months ago are now fitting, though still a little tight. A pair of combats I bought five months ago were too tight then but are a comfortable fit now. A pair of shorts that were a comfortable fit in May I can now pull down without undoing the button. In this hot weather I’ve been wearing shorts and people are commenting how muscly my legs look. I’ve always had solid legs because I walk a lot but they feel strong and they do look good if I do say so myself!

But anyway, I’ve set specific targets with time frames. For example, my next target is 14st 7lb as I haven’t been that light for eight years. The target after that will be 13st 9lb which is a weight I got down to ten years ago ahead of a holiday.

My ultimate target is to get down to 13st or thereabouts. I might not make it for some time (or at all), I’m actually quite a stocky build so I might find that is too much. But one target at a time. If I am below 14st 7lb after Christmas, I will be happy.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “I’ve reached my first weight loss target!

    1. Thank you!

      Funny you mentioned on your blog about targets out of your comfort zone, I’ve been toying with the idea of aiming for a half marathon next year or the year after. Despite this only being a thought in the ether, I’m already getting pushed to do it by several people.

      Time will tell…

Leave a Reply

