Posted in Running and physical health

Bank Holiday weigh in and running update

Current weight: 15st 0lb

Weight lost: 1st 3lb (17lb)

So, I have figured out a decent running route around the new pad. I measured it the other day and it is a 1.3 mile round trip. The first night here, I ran that 1.3 but afterward didn’t feel it was enough. A couple of nights later I added an extra 0.6 miles making 1.9 miles. By the end of next week I expect to have a standard 2 mile run with maybe a longer run once a week. That might not sound much to the more seasoned runners here but for me it is an achievement to do this three times per week while I am still so overweight. To facilitate this I have downloaded a GPS tracking fitness app for my phone. Now I can better plan my increasing distance rather than playing it by ear.

When I first started running just six weeks ago, I was covering roughly 0.5 mile and feeling exhausted with jelly legs and a pain in my chest. I also walked 50% the journey. Now I run more or less 75% of this new longer distance. My legs feel strong, I’m far more mobile than I have been since I stopped swimming regularly (about six years ago).

My legs can take the longer route but my lungs struggle at the moment. I know the best way to extend the route is to do it gradually and to stick with what I’m confortable doing. I am still overweight after all but I’ve got this far just pushing myself that tiny bit further every time.

Being out in the countryside, it is a much more pleasant route than at the old place and I can extend it at my leisure. Though I wouldn’t say that I’m getting serious about running, I’m all about personal goals and I always need things in life to focus on. Fitness and testing personal limits is always admirable. I’m still only thinking about running a half marathon 12 months from now… only thinking mind you!

EDIT: I bought my first bicycle rack for my car today. No harm in mixing up the exercise routines, now I can take my bike everywhere I go. Just needs a good clean, maybe a service and away I go

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

