Posted in Running and physical health

Magic mark

I ran 3 miles for the first time today, and what’s more I felt energetic enough for a sprint finish so for the last 50m, I did so.

3 miles may not seem like much to the more seasoned runners but to me it means that I’m almost ready to enter short competition running. I’m going to stick with that distance for now and gradually work up to  running 3 miles without stopping.

I’m very proud of this achievement for somebody who was exhausted after 0.5m just two months ago. I’m feeling healthier, stronger, lighter and more energetic. My legs are the strongest they’ve ever felt and they look more solid than ever. I felt I could have run farther but chose not to overdo it.

I’ve also started lifting weights this week. I don’t want to look like a bodybuilder but I do want to tone up my arms and through the winter swim a lot more. I want to be fit, I want to be healthy and I know this time I’m going to keep the weight off.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Magic mark

Leave a Reply

