Posted in Dating / Relationships

Blind dates

I knew it was coming and I guess for any divorcee, especially those in their thirties, inevitably a well-meaning friend or family member will offer to fix you up with a single friend of theirs.

In this case, my youngest brother has a female friend around my age with whom he thinks I should go on a date. Let me begin by saying that our tastes in women are vastly different. I am attracted to complicated, educated, intelligent women who know what they want from life with which to share meaningful life experiences: travel, culture and growing together. He prefers sociable, bubbly women who like a night out on the town every weekend.

Amused by this, I promptly took a look at her facebook profile and saw that we appear to have nothing in common; furthermore there is nothing about her that suggests she is in any way my type. I’m sure she is a very nice woman but any date with her would appear at first glance to end up being a disaster and very clear to both of us that we’ve no common ground. When he puts it to her, I imagine she will say the same thing.

As any person would, he insisted I meet her despite my insistence that we are not compatible at all. I said I would only if she wanted to.

The thing is, by now I know the sort of people I want for friends, dates and relationships and it isn’t what most others want and, most importantly, what my family think I should want or do.

I’ll keep you posted.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

