Posted in Dating / Relationships

Dating site observations – part two

Laziness in writing a profle is a big problem, moreso on POF than OKCupid (because of the respective formats). Time and time again I click on an interesting looking photo or somebody who is physically my type to find next to nothing on their profile.

When I make an approach to somebody on POF I like to have an icebreaker, a lead into conversation usually about a shared interest or experience but if there is nothing I won’t bother.

This is fairly typical:

I do the usual things, going out, staying in and eating a takeaway, walking, going to the gym and lazy sundays. I work hard and enjoy life, go on holiday to hot places when I can.

For me, that is a lot of words to say nothing. It is so vague that I wouldn’t know how to begin approaching you.

It is usually these profiles that complain about only getting ‘weirdos’ and ‘time wasters’. Seriously ladies, put some effort in and you might have more success! I guess women get equally frustrated at male profiles with nothing but pics of them with their shirts off?

Maybe it is just me wanting a woman with some substance, some drive and solid interests that they are pursuing but this is another thing that makes my eyes glaze over.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

One thought on “Dating site observations – part two

  1. yeah, pof is particularly lame. i suspect that part of the problem is that it’s free, so people create a profile with very little motivation – sort of half-ass efforts.

Leave a Reply

