Posted in Dating / Relationships

We men – we just don’t get hints

So, my dinner date with Little Red is in a few days time. Regular commenter Aletha posted this the other day

Remember the third date asking was in your court, but she seized the moment and asked you for dinner

After reading this and thinking back to the conversation I facepalmed. Little Red was dropping a hint and I Just.
Didn’t.
Get it.

She spent some time talking about this particular pub and why she liked it so much, how it does good food and is very cosy. Made all the moreso with a log fire at this time of year. Clearly, it is a place that she is comfortable with and has an atmosphere that she feels is appropriate for a dinner date.

Either way, it is obvious to me now that she was fishing for me to ask her if she wanted to go to dinner. In the end I didn’t get the hint so she asked me instead.

I am looking forward to it. I am equally nervous and relaxed about it at the same time. I will certainly let you know how it goes. I’m also giving thought to what the next date might be – and I think I have a couple of suitable ideas.

Finally ladies, let me apologise on behalf of the male population for being so awful at getting hints. But seriously, we do appreciate the direct approach from you too. And as it is the 21st century, there is nothing to stop you asking a man out on a date either!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

