Posted in Self Esteem, Self Help

Perspective on self-esteem

I was frequenting the blog of one of my lovely, wonderful subscribers as I tend to do in gratitude for those who come here and offer me encouragment and advice. One of those is Emily who writes as The Blogging Runner. Surprisingly, her blog is about running – something I have discovered a bit of a passion for in the last few months. On the front page is this image:

Now though this image is about fitness in general and running in particular, there is another message here related to self-esteem. Those of us with low self-esteem rarely credit ourselves for our achievements. I know I’ve done it in the past and I know that I still do it to some degree at times.

If we look at this caption from a point of view of self-esteem, we see a statement that we should credit ourselves instead of our environment or other external forces. How often do we excuse our hard work? How often do we say the following:
* I got lucky
* Anyone could have done it
* Seriously, it was ok and I could have done better

We are crediting external forces and dismissing our own achievements. It’s easy is another one of those dismissals when we should realise that any such achievement is no easier or harder than it was yesterday, last week, last year. If I can run a mile in 12 minutes today but in three months I can run the same mile on the same course in ten minutes, has the course got easier? No…

It is because we have improved.

It is because of our dedication or talent or stubbornness.

Realising these simple words: You got better is the key to improving our self worth. And in that moment we stop crediting the external forces and start accepting that we are responsible do we finally liberate ourselves from the shackles of the low self-esteem that holds us back.

You get better

Remember those three words.

I will try to do so.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

6 thoughts on “Perspective on self-esteem

  1. “And in that moment we stop crediting the external forces and start accepting that we are responsible do we finally liberate ourselves” – It is funny to me that those with good self-esteem could use this advise too, but for the negative in life instead of the possitive. Very recently, I was confronted with a struggle I’ve had with a person in my life; they are very intelligent, successful and flaunt their positives without fear. However, when ever something goes wrong, errors happen, it is always my fault or the environments or anything other than their error. I find your words balancing and hold true for both spectrums of self-esteem. Thank you for this encouraging piece.

    1. You’re very welcome. I visit this particular person’s blog regularly as encouragement for my own running regime. That picture has always ben there but the other night, those thoughts just clicked into my head.

      Arrogance it seems is the polar opposite of low self-esteem. Or is arrogance merely low self esteem wearing a mask?

      1. In her case she is the polar opposite to you, almost to the dretriment of herself. For now I’m happy for her success, but one day she will realize she is only mortal and then things will slow down. Until then she will still shoot for the stars. I can be Arrogant too, but that I know is sometimes me masking an insecurity. However, generally I’m great in my mediocrity. P.S. I have my first interview for a job I meet none of the requirements, wish me luck.

  2. Awesome article, I cant say how many times It was just lucky etc. I like your look at personal improvement and its so right. Thanks for this inspiring article I found it on a day I really needed one, Thanks again.

    1. You’re welcome Anna. I’ve been at rock bottom so I can only guess how you feel. I know it isn’t easy, believe me I know but just try to remember those words whenever you try to dismiss an achievement.

Leave a Reply

