Posted in Dating / Relationships

More dating updates

Miss Outdoors

After giving up all hope of getting any sort of response from Miss Outdoors, out of the blue this morning I got an apologetic email, chastising herself for rudeness and expressing that she feels she does not have a good way with words to express herself.

Though she agreed we got on, she didn’t feel a spark but would like to see me again on the understanding that it is as friends.

I’ve been in this place more times than I care to count but for the first time in my life I am totally cool with it. I felt a small amount of attraction for her but it is amazing how easily such feelings are killed early when the “lets be friends” conversation is made clear from the start.

I told her I respected her decision, that I greatly admired her honesty (I do, it was very sweet – and perhaps brave to say so… after all I’m still practically a stranger to her and it would have been easy to just ignore me). I also said that I’m looking forward to seeing her with this understanding of friendship and if she should ever like a hiking partner to look me up.

I have another date

I can’t believe my luck here because this girl is absolutely stunning. Of course I’m not so shallow for that to be the only reason I messaged her – from conversations we have a lot in common, she is intelligent and highly educated and has a passion in life that I find admirable. So far, so good and she ticks the most important boxes for me. I’m looking forward to meeting her next week.

This girl I will refer to as l’Canadien because she is French-Canadian. We’re meeting up in a town I’ve not visited in a while and one she’s never been to so it ought to be a good evening. By this stage I did already feel a bit of an attraction for Miss Outdoors but with this girl, I won’t know until we’ve met.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

