Posted in Dating / Relationships

Longest first date ever?

I expected to find her intense, and she was.

I expected to find her humourless, but she wasn’t.

I expected to find her a bit full of herself, but she wasn’t.

I expected to have just one drink before one of us decided the other wasn’t the sort of person we’d normally keep company with.

For the first 30 mins of our date this evening, I thought my gut reaction about l’Canadien was correct and it wouldn’t go to a second drink.

Yet…

3 hours passed in which there was intense conversation, some laughter, a heated discussion that could have gone on all night and definite agreement that we should meet again. Overall, it could be said that it was a good night and the most lively date I have had thus far.

Physically, she is the type I normally go for.

Intellectually, she is the type I normally go for.

She is a little more full-on than the type I normally go for.

Did I mention that she was intense?

Yet, despite this intensity (which I find admirable if not necessarily attractive) I found her a great person to be around. Her personality was very appealing mostly because I’ve rarely met people as driven and intense as her and when I have, I’ve generally found them bordering unpleasant and chronically humourless with no sign of an inner child. Yet she was pleasant and genuine and I admired her passion and honesty. She also had a sense of humour – this always helps!

I am drawn to her. I find her intriguing. Do I fancy her? Honestly, I do not know. The second date will reveal more.

Another successful first date πŸ™‚

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Longest first date ever?

Leave a Reply

