Posted in Dating / Relationships

Dates are stacking up again

I’ve really hit it off with another girl. Seriously, a few days ago we spent the whole day sending each other text messages. We have so much in common it’s ridiculous. We even traded phone numbers before we met, that’s how well we are currently getting on!

This girl is my type in a lot of ways. She is very geeky, which I like and this has contributed so far in being nowhere near running out of things to talk about. She is bubbly, quite quirky and a little scatterbrained (but intelligent with it). I’m going to call this girl ubergeek and we are meeting Monday evening.

I got a message from Songstress over the weekend asking if I’d like to meet up again. It wasn’t totally out of the blue, we had traded a handful of messages over the last month but I wasn’t expecting to meet her again; I certainly wasn’t expecting her to ask me for a second date. Sadly, though I find her pleasant, interesting, funny and good company we have very little in common and I felt there was no spark. I have agreed to meet her anyway; hopefully the “no spark” thing will become obvious to her too and we can politely agree that there is nothing there and move on.

Otherwise, I’m not particularly looking forward to blowing somebody out for the first time in my life. I guess that is something I am going to have to get used to.

As for Little Red, things have gone quite again. We agreed to send Christmas cards but I received nothing from her and the only text messages I received were in response to me wishing her a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I know she has a lot on her mind, but I’m starting to think that she is losing interest… However, I thought that before and she suddenly started contacting me regularly and the result was that she asked me out to dinner (which of course never took place). I have made it clear twice that I would very much like to see her but that there is no pressure and I can wait until she is feeling settled. I don’t want to push it but I have made my desire to see her very clear and I only have so much patience, especially in light of the other options I currently have. She is still the date for whom I have the most affection (that might change after I meet ubergeek).

Anybody thoughts or advice from my readers on this situation with Little Red will be appreciated.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Dates are stacking up again

  1. I’d let it go. Although there were mutual interested feelings, it is clear they have now waned due to the change of circumstances. There’s no reason to put more thought into this connection – it was only a couple of dates after all. Pursue other options x

    1. I quite agree. I’ve decided that I shan’t contact her again, will not ask to meet again (I think twice in the space of a month is enough) but will be receptive if she initiates contact and/or asks if I’m interested in meeting.

      A shame we never got the opportunity to figure out if there was anything there but that’s just the way it goes sometimes I guess.

Leave a Reply

