Posted in Dating / Relationships, Mental Health

Two bits of good news

First of all, I am delighted to say that another first date went brilliantly. Ubergeek was as genuine, sweet, bubbly and lovely as I hoped she would be. I was ultra-nervous on the day, usually a sign of high expectation on my part. We did not run out of things to talk about and when it appeared for a brief moment that we had she pleaded “have we run out of things to talk about? I don’t want to go yet!” Conversation picked up again though. We were together for two hours and we finished with a hug and a peck on the cheek.

Needless to say we both definitely want to meet again.

I’m going to stop messaging new women on the dating sites now. With stuff to figure out and with three dates that I wish to see again and have said they want to see me again, I seem to have my hands full. Besides feeling that all three are people I might like to have a relationship with, I don’t want to overcomplicate things by adding more to the mix.

So that is my first bit of good news. What is my second?

On advice of my GP, I am off of the antidepressants. I’m not sure I needed them going into Christmas but he insisted I stay on until New Year, being such a miserable time of year for some and running the risk of another mood crash. He also insisted on giving me an emergency prescription to start taking again if my mood does crash.

I’m happy with this on both points and I put the prescription in anyway and have the pills on standby. You never know what is around the corner. Of the old prescription, I took the final half-tablet this morning.

We are just over a week into 2013 and for me it seems it is off to a good start.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

