Posted in Dating / Relationships, Mental Health

Withdrawal Symptoms

When you are taking medication over a length of time, coming off of them can sometimes lead to withdrawal symptoms. Because of the nature of what they do to the chemical structure of the brain, antidepressants are pretty big culprits for after effects.

I took medical advice and reduced my already small dose but that didn’t prevent the withdrawal effects I’ve experienced.

Dizziness

Insomnia

Lack of appetite (at least that will aid weight loss!)

Anxiety. This is the last thing I need heading into a second date with ubergerk as all of the self doubts are resurfacing purely as a result of chemical readjustment of my brain. I keep thinking “what if she changes her mind?” “what if she just doesn’t turn up?” “what if I get pipped to the post by somebody better looking or more successful?” and “what the hell would she see in me anyway?”

And ordinarily I know this is stupid. She is genuine and we’ve texted every day. She has said that she wants to meet again; clearly in one way or another, she likes me. And if it doesn’t work? If the second date is a disaster? If she otherwise has second thoughts about meeting again? I know I’ll have other options. Somebody who has been out on dates with six different women in four months is obviously not struggling to meet people!

I guess the fact that I’m feeling quite positive because there is seemingly real chemistry here (and feeling it is all too good to be true) is probably also adding to life-long fears of rejection and enhancing the anxiety I’m feeling as a result of coming off of the pills.

Please, somebody just tell me to shut up, just enjoy the attention I’m getting from ubergeek and let nature takes it course, whatever that may be?

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

