Posted in Dating / Relationships

Ladies – sometimes your timing is awful!

Don’t worry, this is not a “bloody women” type post but a long, hard chuckle at the irony of my current situation of the last couple of nights. Just when I thought everything was clear… that all of my efforts, thoughts and feelings were starting to think that the chances for a relationship with ubergeek was looking very good and when all other options were retreating to the back of my mind, I get blindsided by the unexpected.

And now my head is all in a muddle.

Just when I thought it had all faded into the distance. Just when I had put her out of my mind. Just when I had shrugged my shoulders and thought that the moment had passed, that we had become victims of circumstances beyond our control she waltzes back into my thoughts with a lengthy text updating me on her situation and a “life is settling down. we should meet and have a catch up soon!”

Bloody women – your timing sucks. I wonder sometimes if you do it deliberately 😀 (oh, I said I wouldn’t do the “bloody women” thing didn’t I?)

I am, of course, talking about the other date for whom I had developed so much fondness, somebody who I really, really wanted to see again, somebody it took me so long to stop thinking she was out of my league and it took for her to ask me out to dinner before I started to think “maybe… just maybe there is a chance of something here.”

I am of course, talking about none other than Little Red.

I haven’t seen her in nearly three months and over Christmas I caught myself wondering whether we’d be together next Christmas. This was before I even got talking to ubergeek and the clear and obvious chemistry that developed so quickly.

I don’t see anything more than friendship for the forseeable future but having that contact again has tugged on the heart strings a little and made me wonder “what if…?”

Don’t really think I’m asking for advice. I know what I have to do… take it one day at a time, enjoy the company and conversation of both women until there is hint of something more than just casual dating with either one and see where life takes us.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

8 thoughts on “Ladies – sometimes your timing is awful!

    1. Haha, i know. I’m pleased that she thought of me to do so and to say that she still wants to meet up; it isn’t an empty promise but I guess when she asked me out to dinner for the weekend she was moving out I guess she was just overstretching herself a little.

      I am playing the waiting game with both women. Though I’m feeling a little lovestruck with ubergeek at the moment (and I’m never like that after one date no matter how many texts we’re sending!) I know at this very early stage it could go either way. I’m taking my time and figuring out who and what I want.

            1. A million apologies… I do not understand why every single one of your comments here now put in my spam queue. It is very annoying!

  1. Very well done! How the tides have turned 🙂 Now, you get to experience what women go through sometimes. 😉

    Don’t worry about timing, it’s an uncontrollable factor. You said it best: you have to figure out what you want & need 🙂 That’s what will emerge.

    I also wanted to let you know that I have recently started a Google+ community entitled relationships https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/115316662241381008775
    where I will be featuring some of your articles and invite you to share your work with this audience.

    1. Yes, I can imagine that men can be just as bad on the timoing front. It wasn’t a complaint, as I said just a facepalm moment at the irony.

      I am honoured that you considered me! I will take a look and do my best to contribute something. I will send you an email to have a chat about it.

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

