Posted in Dating / Relationships, Mood Music

She Makes Me Feel Like a Teenage Boy Again!

In the last six months, I have been out on dates with six different women. I am in contact with all but two. Though I have enjoyed their company in every instance and have wanted to see them again, with none of them did I feel that I couldn’t wait to see her again… or how much I really wanted to kiss her.

Ahead of our first date I was feeling very nervous, more nervous than with any other and ahead of our second date I had butterflies in my stomach for a week! Our second date was last night and it went so smoothly, so ridiculously well and we didn’t want to part. We went for a meal and then to a quiet bar to finish with drinks. There was a lot of conversation, some frivolous and some deep, and lots of laughter. I came away with a spring in my step and a big smile on my face.

And this is only the second date. I have never felt this way about anyone so soon. There is a definite connection and last night some definite flirting… but no kiss… yet. What is it about ubergeek that makes me feel like a teenage boy all over again?

Is she attractive? Yes but that is not it. She is no more or less physically appealing than most of the others and there are things far more important than what somebody looks like.

Sense of humour? Not as much as Little Red or Songstress but she can make me laugh (by the way girls, never underestimate the importance of this to a man. You might like that we make you laugh but we love it when you can make us laugh)

Confidence? Comfort in her own skin? At face value, yes but both Little Red and l’Canadien have this in abundance.

Intelligent? Yes but not the overt intellectualism of Miss Outdoors that attracted me to her. She really brought out my sapiosexual side.

Drive and ambition? Again, yes but not as much as Little Red or l’Canadien and most of the women I’ve met have jobs that are admirable.

Sweet? Very, and perhaps a little more so than Water Baby.

WYSIWYG? I always admire this in people and she is certainly up front but then all of my dates had this personality trait

What she does have in abundance is charm. She is one of those people that you get a warm glowing feeling inside when in her company. She has a quirky air of innocence accompanied with a sharp intellect.

Needless to say, a third date was a foregone conclusion from the moment we sat down.

I haven’t tried to overanalyse this too much because there is no quantifying chemistry and sometimes all of the elements that we find attractive in others just come together and simply work. Perhaps it is because she has all of the personality traits that I look for, whereas the others were lacking in one or more areas.

So here I am, feeling like a teenage boy and posting my next Mood Music song Life in a Beautiful Light by Amy MacDonald.

Though I don’t think she’s my “one and only” some of these lyrics echo what I’m feeling.

“The butterflies in your stomach sweep you off your feet. Coz the stars in my eyes well they twinkle when I see your face and the butterflies keep flying, flying all over the place”

“Nothing can prepare me for what I’m feeling right now and nobody and nothing is ever gonna bring me down, down, down. No rain no hail no sleet, no snow. Cos the sun always shines everywhere I go” – overall this line reflects my general mood right now. The new positive me sees life in a beautiful light!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

4 thoughts on “She Makes Me Feel Like a Teenage Boy Again!

    1. I’ve always been one; I just didn’t know they had a word for it until recently!

      I am enjoying the butterflies. In the past I have been terrified of falling in love and felt unable to control it in expecting rejection. This girl is so warm and charming it is difficult not to!

Leave a Reply

