Posted in Dating / Relationships

At long last…

After months of promising, random text messages from nowhere, plans giving way to cancellations due to minor disaster and illness FINALLY we are meeting for lunch next weekend.

Of course I mean Little Red. Assuming this isn’t cancelled (and if it is I will make no further offers for a number of reasons) it will be really good to see her after four months.

But (and she told me this days ago)…

She’s off the market. There must be something in the water around here because she has also got back with an ex.

Quadruple shit. Out of options now. As I already knew about this, meeting her will be about giving me closure on the chapter of where we were going and figuring out how much of a friendship is there and whether it has a future (I hope so). I’ve told her that I think she is fantastic company and that I would like to stay in touch.

I’m not really that bothered about losing her as a romantic option. It has been so long since I’ve seen her that any chance anything would happen fizzled out when she moved away. As my plan is not to stay in the area long term, I think the moment passed a while ago. Still, it will be nice to see her again and I’m looking forward to it.

Admittedly, my mood has dropped a little in the last few days and this is mostly, actually, not about Little Red but about Ubergeek. This is not helped by that I have sent out messages to over 20 women on my dating sites and had no replies. I’ve scheduled a session with the therapist due to feeling confused and some ugly thoughts rearing their heads again. I need to make sense of what I am feeling, clear a path through the confusion and to nip these negative thought patterns in the bud. It will also help me make sense of the conflicting advice I am getting from friends.

I’m fighting back this time…

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “At long last…

  1. I wouldn’t take it personally. Dating is a numbers game.
    And it’s okay to feel disappointed. You should. But you also should get back up. There’s something better suited for you out there.

    1. I’m not taking it personally; I guess she had become my second choice anyway in light of the chemistry I had with ubergeek.

Leave a Reply

