Posted in Running and physical health

Body changes – weight loss

That’s how to do it!

I’ve been running my regular routine again now for three weeks. I didn’t stop between November and February, I just went less often (once or twice a week) due to not particularly wanting to go out in the dark in a rural area where I can’t see where I’m going. But I kept it up, which is probably more than some do, and managed to avoid putting on any signifcant amount of weight.

So I weighed myself this weekend:

Current weight 13st 11 lb

That is still 4lb over my pre-Christmas weight but there is one important factor. I now have a 32″ waist when I couldn’t fit into 32″ trousers before Christmas. I can only conclude that I have lost fat around my middle and traded it for muscle mass on my legs, chest and arms. I have taken up a hobby that gives me a little bit of an upper body workout – not that I want to be muscular up top, but this particular activity has the added bonus of working the arms.

For most, weight loss is a target. You set a weight, get there and then slip back into old habits. I’ve decided to make this a journey so that my target is neverending. My short term target is to get down to 12st 7lb (so I have 18lbs to lose) but my long term target is to never again rise above 13st.

I find this more doable than any short-term weight loss targets.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

