Posted in Dating / Relationships

This morning’s date

I vowed to myself that I wouldn’t date any more until I was back home and settled and largely (aside from grungegirl a few weeks ago who approached me), I’ve stuck to that rule. A week ago I got talking to a rather lovely girl on POF. Her profile was pleasant with no bullshit and with several interests in common. She is pretty in a “girl next door” sort of a way and one of the sweetest smiles I’d seen in a long time. Against my own vow I messaged her and all this past week we’ve been chatting. She lives closer to home than where I am now so it meant another trip – but at least I had an excuse to move some more stuff back.

We met this morning on a thankfully warm April morning in her home town (about 40 miles away from my hometown) for a couple of much-needed and earnt coffees. The weather has been appalling the last couple of weeks as we’ve had the coldest early spring for about fifty years. Thankfully, the pretty little town in which she lives behaved itself making our walk around the town that much more pleasant.

Anyway, we had a couple of coffees and a nice long chat. I’m going to call her chatterbox because she was very talkative. I have asked to see her again but yet to receive a response. I enjoyed her company and it will be nice to see her again but if she isn’t keen, no harm done. That will be it now. Assuming we meet again, I will date nobody else until I am back here, settled and ready to move on with life.

I’ll keep you posted.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

