Posted in Dating / Relationships

Dates That You Don’t Want to End!

They are few and far between, aren’t they? I’ve only had one date previously that I did not want to end. Obviously it doesn’t need saying that it was that wonderful second date with ubergeek where I came away with a real spring in my step. But how many first dates are ever like that? Feels like a bonus when it happens and I have had such an experience today 🙂

This morning I had my first date with one of the girls from last week (I was in contact with three women at the same time though one has since flaked out leaving the girl who kept returning to my profile and the girl who took a week to come back to me). The girl I met this morning was the late-responder. I’m going to call her Mischief because she has a slightly mischievous look about her, a cheeky smile and twinkle in her eye. The other girl (and we have agreed to a date in principle, just not set an actual day or location yet) I am going to call bookworm.

So this morning I met Mischief and we had a wonderful day, spending 5.5 hours together. We started with coffee, went for a walk and to an art exhibition and finally for a late lunch before parting. By this point you’d probably think you’d had enough of each other’s company but it really seemed that we did not want to part. Sadly though, we had to but we have already set a second date for next weekend. This is going well so far. I get her and she gets me. We click but perhaps in a different way from the others I’ve felt a connection with. We bounce off each other, compliment each other rather than being in synch. Some of our views on things are similar but our personalities are in some ways quite different. Yet it worked; when we agreed it was great and when we didn’t we appreciated each other’s point of view.

FINALLY pleased to meet somebody I feel a real connection with again. The last three haven’t been my sort of thing. The last two were my own fault though. The girl from last weekend wasn’t my type yet I agreed to meet her because she was nice (I learnt that nice isn’t enough). The one before, we had a couple of things in common but conversation with her didn’t excite me too much. She was nice too, very pleasant in fact but didn’t float my boat. I had such little expectation with those that I didn’t even give them a name!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

5 thoughts on “Dates That You Don’t Want to End!

  1. I just left a reply to one of your comments on my post asking you to let me know how online dating goes for you but after reading this I think I may have my answer! It has been a while since I had a successful first date, I’m glad to hear they are still out there. Will definitely consider making my own profile! Also love the way you write, the tone is just right.

    1. Online dating comes with its own perils and pitfalls but I genuinely feel that it is working for me. Here’s a selection of posts explaining how it has worked for me
      try here, and here, and finally here.

Leave a Reply

