Posted in Mental Health

The Important Things in Life

I have no idea why I haven’t posted in several weeks – I guess it is just a combination of having nothing to write about and having other priorities. But I’m back… for now at least.

My mood has been up and down the last couple of weeks; I expected and was prepared for it. I went through the usual motions of sticking to my exercise routine, going out to enjoy the sunshine and creating a good work-life balance. Last weekend I went on a walk with a singles group and met some new people. However, due to the distances needed to travel for most of the meetups for this group, I can’t go to every event.

shutterstock.com

This weekend though I had a much-needed get together with a group of friends from university and my mood has picked up considerably because of it. One friend I’ve seen twice since I moved back, the others I’d not seen in at least a year. It was the first time we had all been together in over two years. Never underestimate the importance of meeting existing friends; never underestimate the importance of getting out into new surroundings with good friends and just letting your hair down.

We didn’t do much, had a few drinks on Friday night at the flat one of them has just bought. On Saturday we wandered around the city (a city not far from here and one that I am very fond of) and in the good weather, a walk along the river and sitting in the park hit the spot perfectly. A spot of lunch and a few drinks, that was all it needed to pick me up again.

We all might say we want the perfect job, to win the lottery and never want for anything. We might say we want the perfect relationship or to travel the world but when it really comes down to it all we want to know is that someone cares. We want to know that those who are important to us also view us as important in their lives. In these days when our neighbours are virtual strangers, when we accumulate “friends” on facebook and have never met 75% of them (and probably never will) we should always cherish the real-world interactions that we have.

Part of my dip in mood has been that I took a break from dating. For me, dating wasn’t just about looking for “the one”, it was also about getting myself out there and simply meeting new people. I need to start doing that again. I felt a dash of dating fatigue after the events with Mischief; the fact that I had a lot of dates in a short space of time was the major factor in that. Now I’m ready to get back into it. I need and crave that interaction, even if I just made a few new friends, even if it is just to have a coffee with somebody new, have a laugh and never see them again. But I need to take it slowly now to avoid it feeling like a conveyor belt.

Hello again world, I’m ready to face you again 🙂

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

4 thoughts on “The Important Things in Life

  1. It’s good to have you back. I may have some dating stories of my own to share soon, as my relationship ended last weekend. It’s at times like that when you really realise how valuable your friends are – they’ve certainly shown me just how much they care by being a constant source of support over the past few days – so I share the sentiments you expressed regards friendship.

    1. Very sorry to hear that. You seemed to see it coming though as per your recent blog post. Wishing you all the very best as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

