Posted in Mental Health

Mood – And Doing Something About It

In my last post I mentioned that my mood has been up and down due to a distinct lack of human interaction. I expected it to happen, I just didn’t expect it to take so long. And though I have several methods by which to fight it, I know I need to be a bit more proactive than returning to a book I finished months ago as it can only help me so much.

Besides which, it can’t always help with all of my negative thoughts or the complexities of those that are interlinked, one causing another which brings other feelings to the front of my mind.

a plaster – in case you didn’t know what one looked like!

123rf.com

Besides now, I am at the stage where I feel that putting a proverbial plaster over the proverbial wound isn’t always going to be enough. I need to get to the root of the problem – I need to know what to do when I start to brood and think about things and situations in the most negative form. My sleep pattern is disrupted, I don’t always have the motivation to go running and when I do the buzz only seems a temporary reprieve. I sometimes find my attention drifting when working – but that is one of the expected perils of being self-employed anyway.

However, I am not in a depressive phase – but unchecked I could slip down into that pit again. I want to avoid it and to this end then, I have signed up for a local CBT group offering a six week course. It is said to offer help with anxiety, depression and stress management. It starts early next week and after each session I will give my honest impression here about whether it has worked or whether it could work. Also, it gets me out of the house to potentially meet new people and that is something I certainly need.

I have also this week started messaging people on the online dating sites again; I think my self-imposed break has reached a natural end and I’m feeling positive about it again. I’ve set down some ground rules:

  • Be as picky as before
  • Don’t be afraid to say “thanks but no thanks” no matter how nice and approachable they are
  • Don’t feel obliged to meet somebody no matter how nice they are or how long you have been talking

Ok world… bring it on!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

