Posted in Mental Health

JUST F*CKING RELAX!!!!!!!!!!!!!

puffun.com

One thing I have never really tried until this course I am currently doing is using relaxation techniques. It is something I feel I could have done with at times, particularly while I was at university. I also feel I need to do it now. I mentioned last week that the course introduced us to several relaxation techniques including breathing. At the end of the session, the lecturer went through a fairly typical reading used by psychotherapists to calm patients.

I mentioned that I hadn’t realised how much my mind was cluttered with thoughts and how I really could learn to relax more, especially now when I am at home much of the time and could find it easy getting lost in my own thoughts. I don’t feel I am suffering any anxiety, and certainly not feeling depressive, but I feel I could get more focussed if I could clear some of this mental clutter and learn to appreciate and enjoy my relaxation time. I’m sleeping well so this isn’t a problem.

Sometimes though I have a little issue concentrating on the “me” time. I’ve been very guilty of that in the past and do not want to slip back into a world where I focus too much on work and worrying about my proposed future that I forget to let my hair down.

I’m going to start with the NHS website in the next couple of days. Let’s see if this helps.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

3 thoughts on “JUST F*CKING RELAX!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1. Great analaogy! My mind definitely feels like a tornado at times with things persistently spinning around inside it

Leave a Reply

