Posted in Dating / Relationships

Back on the Dating Wagon

Eek! It’s eleven days since I’ve posted anything. How did that happen again? Uh anyway. I should probably give you some updates if you’re all missing me. And I’m sure you’re all dying to know how my (not) love life is doing – or perhaps you don’t.

Since my second date with bookworm at the end of June, I decided to go on dating hiatus. In those five weeks since moving back home I went on six dates. One date each with two girls I never gave aliases, two dates with Mischief and two with Bookworm. That was a lot, too much while I was trying to get settled and it just happened to be that I messaged just two of those women (the two I saw twice). The other two approached me first.

Anyway, about three weeks ago I started messaging women again and last Sunday I had a date. I only messaged this girl to give her some profile advice – she put herself down twice, pleading with men to give her a chance because “I’m better looking in real life”. I advised her to put more pics up than the one webcam image and to remove the negative statement. Anyway, we got talking and decided to meet last Sunday for coffee. There was nothing there. I found her dull and the first thing she asked me was whether she was indeed, prettier in real life than her pic. I said she shouldn’t be so negative but that yes, she was.

She had been a little liberal with the truth. She said she liked travelling but hadn’t done so for about 15 years. She also claimed to enjoy reading but got through about four books a year and we had no favourite books in common. We had zero common ground on anything else so after 45 mins we both made our excuses and left.

I’m also talking to a girl long-distance. We live 200 miles apart but have a lot in common. She is my type in practically every way and I’m sure if we met up we’d have lots to talk about and get on like a house on fire. I’m off next month to the place I visited this time last year that dragged up all those memories – and this is far closer than I am now so I have suggested a meet up. She had admitted to being reticent due to a relatively recent relationship break up and other issues going on in her life. In many ways, her love life history is similar to mine so I am empathising with her and not pushing her into anything. I’ve confided some personal things and she in turn has confided some personal things. If nothing else, we have a bond of trust and possibly something developing from there.

I’m going to call her Mirror Image because we appear to be that similar. I’ll keep you updated but at the moment we’re just talking and getting to know each other

I’ve now finished my CBT course and I will give an update on that in a few days time.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

4 thoughts on “Back on the Dating Wagon

Leave a Reply

