Posted in Dating / Relationships

Another Quick Update

I won’t be meeting Mirror Image in September. She has a busy month of travelling around and has a lot of work on. Similarly, I’m trying to save money and have decided to go away in December instead. It is not ideal to go away in the UK in winter but when the weather is dry it can be rather pleasant – especially where  I intend to visit.

In principle, we’ve agreed to meet toward the end of the year and our “date”, if we end up viewing it as such, will involve lunch and exploring some Christmas markets – I can think of worse things to do!

It is important not to allow an image to build up in your head about what somebody is like before you meet, such is the problem with online dating. Because of this there is no excuse not to make plans for a first date quickly and to be meeting up within ten to fourteen days of first contact. We do not have that luxury unfortunately.

That said, this girl seems sweet, unassuming, intelligent and a dozen other things that tick my boxes. In spite of this, I am not getting my hopes up. Even if we did get on and even if we did fancy each other like crazy, the distance between us (200 miles approx) still might feel an insurmountable distance because of our financial situations (me on a very low income and her in a poorly-paying non-graduate role).

I’ll keep you posted and promise to do an update on the CBT course soon too.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Another Quick Update

    1. Through messaging. I have given her my phone number and my skype handle but she has chosen not to go down that route yet.

Leave a Reply

