Posted in Mental Health, Self Esteem

Tentative Steps – Building Trust

Mirror Image and I have no choice right now but to talk online via email. We are now not going to meet for three months unless we decide to go to any special effort to meet before then. Knowing that anything can happen between now and then, I am most certainly not putting all my eggs in one basket and still messaging plenty of women on the dating sites.

We’re building a lot of trust right now and it is amazing how much our lives are similar. She has suffered mental health issues, she has been on anti-depressants and has feelings of inadequacy where relationships are concerned. She has had one boyfriend – somebody she met in her late twenties and they lasted less than a year. So this girl has had issues and is slowly working her way out of them. In this way we have a lot of empathy for each other’s position and are developing a bond in that direction.

She seems lovely, genuine, sweet and intelligent. She also makes me laugh and physically, I find her very attractive. I am looking forward to meeting her but frustrated that it is going to take so long. I know there’s other things we can do – text, phonecalls, skype etc but nothing can ever beat meeting in person. That building of trust can sometimes come quicker online but to me it nearly always feels synthetic – you can’t know whether there is anything there (whether that is friendship or attraction) without meeting in person. That said, for all of my dates I have had, and even friends I have made online such as Miss X, I’ve found it easy to get a good idea of what people are like.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

One thought on “Tentative Steps – Building Trust

  1. Excited about this one for you. Looking forward to hearing if there is chemistry.

Leave a Reply

