Posted in Dating / Relationships

A whole new experience for me!

A few days ago I uploaded a new picture of me to the dating sites and updated my profiles, nothing major just some minor tweeks. It’s of me next to a local landmark – nothing unusual in that, there’s plenty of people in the area I live in with pics of this particular landmark. I don’t think it is a particularly great picture of me… I look okay and granted I look slimmer than I have for a very long time. I just look normal… like a normal 38 year old out for the day with friends, dressed normally for an unusually warm September day and I’m smiling – all pretty normal. Nothing extraordinary about it… but it seems others disagree.

Since putting it up, I have been approached by about six new women – SIX! – two of whom I have already given the “thanks but no thanks”. The other four, unfortunately, are too far away (two are in other countries and the others are a considerable distance away, all at least 150 miles!) but having a good chat with all of them – after all you never know what might come of it.

The other new experience for me is the appreciative glance – I noticed two of them last week. One while I was out running and one while I was in town visiting the bank! I must admit, as somebody who has had low self-esteem most of his life and has never considered himself to be particularly physically attractive this is going to take some getting used to! All the more reason to keep the weight off this time, as well as my general health as I head out of my thirties and toward the big 4-0.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

3 thoughts on “A whole new experience for me!

    1. No eggs in a single basket here 🙂

      Plus, I’m getting approached all the time now so I’m just sitting back and enjoying the attention!

Leave a Reply

