Posted in Dating / Relationships

So, We Meet at Last!

Guess what? Well it shouldn’t be that difficult to guess seeing as I have been talking about it for weeks but Mirror Image and I finally met yesterday after nearly four months of text and telephone communication. She was every bit as lovely, interesting, sweet and funny as I hoped she would be. Needless to say, we got on like a house on fire.

Was she exactly as expected?

Well, no. Bearing in mind her obvious lack of confidence in herself, I expected her to be a little timid and not very forthcoming conversation-wise. In fact she was quite chatty – though she later confessed that this was more because she was nervous than anything else.

She was slightly quirky in her demeanour – which I didn’t expect – and which was a nice bonus. We made fun of each other a little, which to me is always a good sign πŸ™‚

Did I fancy her or vice versa?

Bloody right I fancied her! She’s a lovely person and I think she’s gorgeous.

She was a little harder to read though. Her only response at my attempts at flirting with her was to blush. It is understandable that she wouldn’t know how to respond bearing in mind that she has little relationship experience. The lack of reaction was undoubtedly about not knowing what to do rather than not being interested. She’ll take a while to warm up to it – just as she did at the prospect of just meeting.

She has been forthcoming about meeting up again soon – details to be decided bearing in mind there’s 200 miles between us.

Reservations?

I still have them but the key is going with the flow and seeing where life takes us, not to think about them until they are looming on the horizon.

I was concerned about potential clinginess – but she doesn’t seem clingy, merely lacking in confidence. She is more independent than my ex so that is another concern broken.

Her worries about me being a divorcee didn’t seem to be an issue for her, though she is worried what her protective elder sister is going to make of it (her sister thinks Mirror Image is a poor judge of character). Again, that will be a bridge to cross when it arrives.

200 miles is a long distance to overcome for any potential relationship too when I have sold my car and she doesn’t drive. However, she is more than happy to travel across the country by train – she has done this several times in the last few months to meet friends and family.

Ok, so let’s see how things go!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “So, We Meet at Last!

  1. I’m so glad you two met up and that it went well!
    Maybe a slower pace (the long distance) might be beneficial since she seems not confident and is inexperienced. Just looking on the bright side for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

