Posted in Mood Music

The things that set you off

Christmas is upon us again (hell this year has gone quickly). I was talking to the ex-wife a couple of days ago who told me how sad she had got at hearing a particular song in a shop. It never occurred to me before, mostly because this particularly track is not amongst my favorite festive songs and consequently I have never properly listened to it.

Listening and then reading through the lyrics I understand why it had upset her so much – the metaphors of snow covering footsteps (and not being able to follow them) and fires still burning don’t need much explanation. And then there are the rather obvious messages behind the bell ringing far away (I wonder if you can hear it?) and the poignant (for us at least) “a love that will never be – even though it meant a lot” and finally the noble nature of wishing each other the very best for the future.

Our marriage ended over six months ago and this time of year will always be poignant – we always made the most of it.

Good luck, I wish you well
for all that wishes may be worth
I hope that love and strength
are with you for the length of your time on Earth

I hope she continues to believe that I wish her the very best, that despite the catastrophic end to our marriage, I wish to see her happy.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “The things that set you off

Leave a Reply

