Posted in Other

Another Year Passes

Happy New Year!
neowin.net

And so we say farewell to 2013. On reflection, this was not a bad year at all when I consider how 2012 panned out. This was my first post of 2013. I felt philosophical, positive and upbeat about what the year had in store for me.

It was a year of changes, the year I fell head over heels for an amazing girl but soon had my heart broken when she got back with her ex boyfriend. I walked out on a job I had come to loathe and stepped into the unstable world of self-employment. I moved back in with parents to aid my new start.

My divorce was finalised.

I had my periods of low mood but continued battling those demons. It is a war I seem to be winning.

I dated. Bugger me, did I have dates coming out of my ears or what? Sadly, none of them worked out (though things are going rather swimmingly with Mirror Image). Bad luck, flakiness and generally lack of interest meant that I finished the year as I started it – single while everyone around me seemed to be coupling up. But I made new friends and I kept in touch with my long-term friends too.

What does 2014 have in store? What are my hopes for the end of the year?

  • No matter how happy some people claim they are in being single, we all want somebody special in our lives and for me, this is my main hope for 2014 – to have somebody to wake up to and to share special occasions with so I don’t feel like a gooseberry with my mostly non-single friends
  • My own place – I want to be earning enough as a small business owner to get my own place and to continue achieving the success I feel I deserve
  • To keep wanting to do new things, and despite being an introvert, to meet new people too
  • Be open about how I feel – I’ve been doing it, I put my cards on the table with Ubergeek and Mirror Image without it being desperate or pushy

So many changes… keep ’em coming!

We all change. When you think about it, we’re all different people all through our lives. And that’s ok! That’s good – you’ve got to keep moving so long as you remember all the people that you used to be. I will not forget one line of this. Not one day, I swear – The Doctor

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Another Year Passes

Leave a Reply

