Posted in Mental Health

Blog For Mental Health 2014 – My Pledge

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2014 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.


Well, I am already doing it but there’s no harm in making it official and signing up for the cause. My long-term readers will know the struggles I have gone through in the last few years – mild depression when I was younger, chronic low-self esteem and self-worth most of my life, feelings of inadequacy when it comes to relationships, at times body dysmorphic disorder (which I acknowledge is unusual but not unheard of for a male) and often feeling there is something unquantifiable yet critically wrong with me, how I am and how I look and generally feeling that I am not good enough.

Most of you will also understand because of the above why this site becomes heavily about dating at times – it is part of coming to terms with the problems I have had in the past and at times, still have.

My personal pledge is to carry on being open and honest about what I have been through, what I am going through and what I am doing about it. I will be frank about the good days and the bad days. I will continue to use the tried and tested self-help methods and the lessons from therapy that I have learnt.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

One thought on “Blog For Mental Health 2014 – My Pledge

Leave a Reply

