Posted in Dating / Relationships

“I’m In Love With You”

I woke up to see her looking at me, a small smile on her lips. At seeing my alerted state, she immediately wrapped her arm around me and placed her head on my shoulder.

“Good morning beautiful,” I kiss her forehead.

“Good morning fella,” she nuzzles my neck and pulls back to look at me.

“You look happy,” she says.


“That’s because I’m in love,” I just blurt it out. I hadn’t intended to just come out with it like that, I was hoping to have had a glass of wine first and then tell her over dinner but no – it had to be the first morning together (though the amazing sex we had the night before might have had something to do with my euphoric state!)

“Awwww, really?”

“Yes, I am in love with you.”

She wraps her arm back around me, snuggles my neck and kisses it. “That’s the first time you’ve ever said that.”

“I know and I mean it. How do you feel?”

“You know I find it hard being open with my feelings. I am very, very, very fond of you and I’m happy with how things are. I am very happy that you feel that way.”

Open with her feelings verbally, not so much but her actions have demonstrated her to be more than “very very fond”.

  • We cooked our first meal together and she commented “for future reference” that “this is working rather well”. As I cooked the pasta over the hob, she cosied up to me and kissed me
  • When we parted she told me (for the first time) that she’s going to miss me
  • The box of chocolates she gave me as a thank you for helping her move this week was Thornton’s “And Then I Met You”
  • Believes our sexual compatibility is strong and that it is important to long-term relationships

She might find it hard to say how she feels, but there are other ways of demonstrating that you care about someone, fancy them, want to be with them, appreciate them and demonstrate that your feelings for them are growing. Her actions are showing me that her feelings are getting stronger – and that is a good thing.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

3 thoughts on ““I’m In Love With You”

  1. Actions speak louder than words, as they say!
    I would prefer if a man showed me his love, then telling me and then act like a jerk or be indifferent. Although most women love to hear it.
    I’m glad things are going well with you two!

    1. Thanks Moksie 🙂

      Of course I have shown her, a lot, and will continue to do so. We’re in a great place right now and feeling closer every day. Seeing her again next week when I meet the parents (yup, feeling pretty serious!) and that’ll be our shortest time between seeing each other – just two weeks

Leave a Reply

