Posted in Mental Health, Mood Music

It’s a Year Since I left

It’s a year since everything changed. I walked out of a job I no longer wanted to do, out of an area I no longer wanted to live in, away from stable employment and into the trepidation of working for myself. I felt confused yet freed, apprehensive yet relieved, numb yet as though a great weight had been lifted from my shoulders.

971096_443938712408637_4448583981463781675_n
It was as though shackles had been cut, chain dropped and finally I was able to spread my wings… tentative at first but finally, opened and taken flight into the great unknown.

No, I have no regrets about what happened – they were fucking painful and you know what? I realise now that I did not let it beat me. Every time I had my feet kicked out from underneath me I got up again. A family friend who has gone through some difficulties asked me the other week how you are supposed to run away from what’s inside your head. I told her that you don’t, because you stand and fight as long as it takes.

I will continue to fight.

I will continue to get up.

I will not be kept down for long.

These feelings of relief and determination are now that much more sublime because I have just had my best month for earnings and I’m full of big ideas for this new financial year that has just started.

It’s not about the money though, it’s about doing what I want to do and answering to myself.

I think it’s time for another Mood Music and one of the finest rock anthems of all time!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Year Since I left

  1. This is so inspiring to hear! It’s encouraging to see that if you start making changes, and follow through, your life could look different a year later!

Leave a Reply

