Posted in Running and physical health

Personal Bests and Targets

I’m a goal-whore (is that even a thing?) in that I persistently feel I have to be working towards something. Without a new goal to reach I feel at a loss. Goal-whore, goal-junkie, whatever you want to call it, it is what it is. I ran my first 10K in November and this weekend I ran another 10K. I hoped and expected to beat my previous personal best but I didn’t quite expect to beat it by so much.

I did the 10K in a few seconds over 1hr 10 mins – which was my target. That was an improvement of about 7mins and 30 seconds. I couldn’t believe it! It felt so wonderful making my way onto the home stretch and seeing that big clock above the finish line, seeing that so I had shaved so much time off. I have three or four more opportunities to get that time down again this year. I may not make it, but my target is to get down to about 1hr, preferably this year.

That’s what running is about beating yourself and not the person next to you. It’s true you may not want to finish last out of 15,000 people but there may still be a victory in that if you have improved on your personal best.

Personal best – it’s just there to be beaten, it’s serves no other purpose than as a target to achieve and then replace ready for the next race. You cannot overstate the sense of achievement you feel at beating your own time and celebrating with others who have just beaten their’s too. It does wonders for the confidence and leaves you floating around for the rest of the day, determined that next time you will be even better. A couple more minutes will do it for me 🙂

That chance is just a month away… wish me luck!

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

4 thoughts on “Personal Bests and Targets

    1. They’re fun too! 😀

      But I’ll bet you wouldn’t chase one for 6.2 miles?

Leave a Reply

