Posted in Dating / Relationships, Mood Music

We’re Official – Who Saw That Coming?

Well yes of course you did and for me considering how much her language has changed when talking about it, it was only a matter of time before Mirror Image would consider us official, together, an item, me her boyfriend and her my girlfriend. Yes, after months of saying she didn’t know how she felt, of standing off a little and saying she was “very fond of me” yet still didn’t know if she wanted to consider us in a relationship while walking up the street hand in hand, today we have finally decided to announce to the world that we are officially a couple.

123rf.com

I really cannot express just how happy I am. It feels right. I have a big stupid grin on my face for the first time in a long time. I am in love with an amazing, funny, intelligent and gorgeous woman and in some ways I can hardly believe my luck, but here I am!

Yes there are niggles, but no relationship is perfect – part of it is working through the differences that you can live with and dealing with the big ones when they come up. She has put a smile on my face and that’s all that matters right now.

The fact that we live some 200 miles apart comes with its own problems, of course it does. It also means that it hasn’t followed the natural progression of most relationships – the “sleepover” came earlier than normal, as did spending days together at a time. Nevertheless, it has never felt it was moving too fast as our relationship developed mostly online through emails and Skype (never underestimate the importance of video chatting here)

We’re taking it one day at a time but now everything feels that much more solid. We can stop saying “we’ll do X if things work out” and say “next year we’ll do X if we can afford it”.

Life is good 🙂 We’re seeing each other again next week when she has a few days off in a row.

Mood music again. Most love songs are far too mushy, even for a hopeless romantic like me but I have always liked this one. It speaks of carefree innocence that exists at the beginning of a relationship. I pass you over to the legend that is Elton John.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

4 thoughts on “We’re Official – Who Saw That Coming?

  1. Congrats, man! Your blog will probably take on a little bit of a different feel, as mine did when my current relationship began, but that’s the awesome part. Everything starts to feel better again – as you’re obviously experiencing right now…

    1. Thanks very much 🙂

      It is indeed feeling much better and you’re right about the blog – dating and relationships is already starting to take a back seat. That gives me more space to think about what I really wanted it to be about and that’s male mental health

Leave a Reply

