Posted in Dating / Relationships

First Holiday Together

So I am back from my first holiday away with Mirror Image. This was a big step for both of us. For her, it was a first ever holiday with a boyfriend; for me it was my first holiday with a woman other than my ex-wife. The last time I went away with a woman, it was a swansong – a kind of goodbye. But this, this was a hello – the first test of a new relationship.

wikimedia.org

Mirror Image and I have been seeing each other for 7 months, we have been a couple effectively since I met her parents two months ago… actually, the hopeless romantic in me has considered us official since we first had sex nearly 4 months ago but this is all semantics – we are now officially a couple.

We live 200 miles apart, she lives in a shared house and I live with family while I get my small business going – privacy is something we have not reeeeally had enough of… until now. Aside from that we both needed a holiday, we felt it was important to see what it would have been like to be together for more than a few days at a time, what it is like to share each other’s space as introverts, too cook together, to organise ourselves around each other, to introduce each other to new experiences and to plan things to do while taking our different interests into account.

It went brilliantly. We went out for day trips, lovely meals, long walks; we cooked together, allocated tasks “I cooked so you wash up” and it was all rather civil and the sort of thing I might have expected. Needless to say, the extra time and space for bedroom antics were also certainly very much appreciated. The important thing here is time… time for us, time to grow, time to move into that deeper phase of our relationship.

When we parted this weekend, there was a little sadness from both of us and reassurances that we will see each other again very soon. Parting gets harder every time, but I expected this and knew exactly what I was getting myself into dating somebody who lives 200 miles away.

All round, a good and much-needed break. Now though, I am already missing not being with her.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “First Holiday Together

Leave a Reply

