Posted in Dating / Relationships

I Give You My Heart With Those Three Little Words

The family function on Saturday went very well and we were very affectionate. I felt very much loved up that day and proud to be showing off my new girlfriend to my family – some of whom had met Mirror Image before that day. A few hours before our very minor tiff caused by a lack of communication about our sex life, I finally said the three words I had been dying to say.We were sat on a bench in the cool evening breeze, snuggled up next to each other. I leaned over and whispered her name in her ear.

‘Yes?’

‘I love you.’

She wrapped her arms tight around me but accused me of being drunk. Yes, I had been drinking but I was perfectly lucid and in control. I asked her ‘Do I sound drunk?’

‘No’

‘Am I slurring my words?’

‘No.’

‘Can I walk in a straight line?’

‘Yes, admittedly.’ (We had walked 50 yards or so across bumpy ground and I managed it without staggering or stumbling)

‘Then believe I am sober to mean what I say, and I say again that I love you totally and utterly.’

She wrapped her arms tightly around me. I knew she wouldn’t say it back. She finds it very difficult to say what she feels and chooses to express her emotions through her actions. She held me close, then pulled back and kissed me on the lips.

This was enough for me to know that I am loved in return.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

Leave a Reply

