Posted in Dating / Relationships

Living Together is One Step Closer

No we haven’t moved in together, at least not yet. As part of developing towards living together this year – hopefully that will result in me moving to live with her, we are now spending a lot more time together and not purely around our workload. At the suggestion of her landlady with whom I get on reasonably well, I have spent this week with Mirror Image and working at her digs will she is at work.

idealmagazine.co.uk

It has worked out really well as she has had a couple of days off this week where I have had work to do so she has gone about the house doing chores and getting herself organised. We did this so we can figure out what a “normal” life together would feel like as she gets used to having me around after she finishes work and to see her off in the morning, as well as understanding what living with a small business owner feels like – the evenings where I have to work late to finish a project for a client, knowing that when she has a day off I can’t necessarily take a day off too.

Until now, we have largely organised to spend time together when she has 3-4 days off together. I act like a mad person trying to get stuff done so I can maximise my time with her but always on the understanding that I’ll work if I need to do so.

This is a big step for me – my first time living with someone since I physically separated from my ex-wife in Autumn 2012. I will be moving a long way from home (again) – even longer this time to a place where I do not know anyone. I have the bonus of knowing that my university city is around two hours away, and at least that is familiar territory and I do have some friends there, but either way this is going to be a real life changer.

Stay tuned for more updates.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

One thought on “Living Together is One Step Closer

  1. Wow! This is a big step. I give you a lot of credit. I doubt I will ever be able to live with someone ever again. Maybe deep down I have given up on love. I mean, I am 47… this is a tough age to meet people because men my age want younger. If I do get hit on, it is by younger men who clearly have *Bang an older broad* on their ‘bucket list’. LOL!

Leave a Reply

