Posted in Mental Health

Blog For Mental Health 2015 – My Pledge

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2015 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.


So here we are for 2015. I once again take the pledge to talk about mental health and to raise awareness of the stigma that people with mental illness in all its forms will face. Often feeling alone and afraid while going through the most intense stress, anxiety and depression, people who are mentally ill suffer one of the last acceptable prejudices and few will ever truly be cured.

Though I have not had a true low point for about a year or more, I don’t think for one moment that I will never return to those dark places. I use Mindfulness and CBT as preventive measures and it is working. I am happier than I have been in a long time – but I remain ever on guard.

This blog has had a much stronger focus the last twelve months as I find my writing niche and the issues that are most important to me. These days, I specifically discuss mental health issues relevant to men. Why? Becaue while women are more likely to be diagnosed with and treated for mental illness, over 75% of suicides in the western world are men. Something isn’t right here and we need to start treating mental illness as a gender issue and highlighting the extra stigma and expectations that men face.

I came close to taking my own life in 2012, so I have experienced that rock bottom feeling. If you are in that place, you are not alone.

 

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

One thought on “Blog For Mental Health 2015 – My Pledge

Leave a Reply

