Posted in Gender

Katie Hopkins Shows the Equality Double Standard

dailyexpress.co.uk

Not one to shy away from controversy and not one to pass up a chance to open her mouth for the purpose of getting attention, Katie Hopkins laid into Brit-film and Eastenders actor and wide-boy Danny Dyer on Twitter the other day. What was his crime? For having the audacity to allow his girlfriend to propose to him when he should have “been a man” and done it himself.

Any right-thinking person would think nothing of this. After all, this is the 21st century and though arguably women have a long way to go in some areas, in other areas not so much. It is a woman’s right to ask her boyfriend to marry her. But not according to Hopkins who tweeted:

No woman should ever propose to a man. Certainly not one with a naff bum-fluff beard and dodgy squint.

Leaving aside the pointless personal attacks on each others’ respective appearance, Hopkins goes on to demonstrate precisely what equality means to some women. The double-standard is unsurprising and Hopkins goes on to engage in some classic womansplaining.

Being proposed to removes a man’s genitals

Her sexism goes on.

Presumably your bird had to fund her own diamonds too given you gave up your crown jewels saying yes?

Casual sexism is so easily ignored and coming from a career woman like Hopkins, comes across as amusingly hypocritical. She reduces men to the typical sexist stereotype as protector, provider and leader. That might be what she wants in a man, but not every man is comfortable in that and not every woman wants an alpha male. Some of us appreciate women who are more proactive, more willing to show that she is interested in the relationship by not acting with passivity.

Hopkins stop womansplaining and please disappear into obscurity? You had your 15 minutes of fame on The Apprentice and that was something like 8 years ago now.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

9 thoughts on “Katie Hopkins Shows the Equality Double Standard

  1. I just learned a new word today, CUCH. “womansplaining” Thank you. 🙂

    Why does this woman give a rat’s fuzzy corn-hole that a woman proposed to a man?

    Shit or get off the pot, I say.

    Or, take matters into your own hands.

    Oh and for the record, I paid for my own wedding band and forfeited the *engagement ring* because to me it was a waste of money.

    1. Heh, I’ve heard feminists using “mansplaining” as a derogatory term for when men imply they know better than a woman simply because he’s a man and she’s a woman. It’s also used when a man thinks he understands the female psyche better than any woman does.

      “Womansplaining” is simply the opposite, when a woman thinks she understands about being a man more than any actual man could ever know.

      Why does this woman give a rat’s fuzzy corn-hole that a woman proposed to a man?

      Because she’s decided that men should act a certain way in order to be considered “a real man”, one of the biggest bug bears I write about on this blog.

      Katie Hopkins is a nasty and vindictive woman.

      Shit or get off the pot, I say.

      Thanks for teaching me a new phrase! That genuinely made me LOL.

  2. Ha-Ha! I am glad I could make you laugh (for a change). 🙂

    I’m always learning something when I read your blog. It’s refreshing!

    I have no idea who that woman is, but she looks nasty. I mean, look at her face — such a scowl. She needs to wake up and accept that we live in a different time now… customs of the past are just that in the past. I think it’s great that a woman proposed to man. Waiting for a man to make the move is so old fashioned.

    I’ll check out that link in a bit. I don’t know what it is about the human reace but we always think we can get inside the heads of others… Imagine if we could? There wouldn’t be a human being left in the world because we would have killed one another off.

  3. OMG! LOL! I can tell arleady this article is going to be an interesting read:

    “I found a Google search in his history on the subject, and the top image results were of Brad Pitt, Chuck Norris, Drake and a lion — interpret that how you will.”

  4. Ok. I read the article and Professor CUCH I can sum it up on one word:

    NONSENSE!

    I do not agree with what she wrote. It’s stupid. “Real men”? C’mon give me a break. I guess it is the world according to Rebecca Strong. What a ditz.

    I mean if Cher had written the article — you know-been-around-the-block-slept-with-a-lot-of-men-in-her-time-Cher. Maybe, must maybe I would agree with it but even CHER has said, “You can take all that I have learned about men throughout the years and fit it on the head of a pin and still have room left over for the Lord’s Prayer.”

    Amen Cher.

    1. Haha, great stuff! It always bothers me when people think they know better than people who are living those experiences.

      I hope you like the satire post I expect to put up soon; it’ll be either later today or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

