Posted in Separation / Divorce

Meeting the Ex’s New Squeeze: A Moment of No Awkwardness

Though my ex-wife and I had discussed in the past whether we would introduce our current squeezes to each other, I suddenly had it thrust upon me at the weekend. I went along to a seasonal festival at the weekend along with a couple of friends – my best mate, his brother and their two partners. The night before, I received a text message from my ex-wife.

“Hi! How are you? Just checking to see if you will be at [MARKET] this year? We will be. It will be good to meet up with you at some point.”

Having heard how jealous and prone to mood swings my ex’s new bloke was, this made me slightly anxious. Mirror Image was not going to be there and I think the process would have been easier if she was. I had no problem meeting him; there are no lingering feelings – it was merely the jealously that I was concerned about.

We were there only about 20 minutes before my friend spotted my ex-wife and though we were heading in another direction, we did bump into them again about 15 minutes later.

It was all very civilised. He shook my hand and we discussed my former employer (with whom he had a history). We had a chuckle, it was all pleasant until he piped up “well, this is awkward”.

Umm, no. I was fine and so was my ex-wife, so was my friend who last saw my ex-wife while she was involved with “him”. The way she hugged my friend on that day looked to me like a “goodbye” hug. That was the strangest thing of the whole affair, two people who thought they would never see each other again did actually meet briefly.

She was disappointed not to meet Mirror Image and I expect there will be a point that they will meet up, but I am not rushing into that. That may be awkward for both of them even though they both say it will be completely cool to do so.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Meeting the Ex’s New Squeeze: A Moment of No Awkwardness

  1. I haven’t had the chance to introduce my fiancee to my ex yet, though they’ve been with a few feet of each other on multiple occasions. To the best of my knowledge, my ex isn’t seeing anyone, which I’m sure makes the situation awkward for her. I’m not in any hurry for them to meet, although I’m sure it’s bound to happen.

    1. It’s probably far more common these days for exes to meet with the stigma of divorce all but gone.

      Mirror Image has expressed an interest in meeting my ex at no prompt from me. You can’t always simply cut somebody out of your life like that. It’s likely to happen at some point, but I am in no hurry for it.

Leave a Reply

