Posted in Dating / Relationships

No Longer in an LDR

In December 2013, many of you may recall that I met the person to whom I would refer as Mirror Image. Following a year of dating with some stop-starts, some “no ways” and some great dates, I met this person who lives nearly 250 miles away from the town of my birth. For the previous 8 months, I had been living back with family while I started on the next stage of my life – post-divorce and newly self-employed.

We spent over two years travelling back and forth to see each other, snatching all the moments we could, seeing each other for about a week every six weeks. We got creative (and had to) with our sex life and planned, some day when we could afford it, to move in together.

Now, everything has changed again. I am no longer in a long distance relationship with Mirror Image. There was just too much about it that no longer worked – the stress of distance, my persistent being there we felt was taking too many liberties with her landlord, our desire for space for intimacy increased as the landlord took on more tenants and so on. It just didn’t work for a couple our age to be living in a house share. We knew it couldn’t go on like this, and this week that all ended.

No, I am no longer in a long distance relationship because we are now living together, as a couple. Cooking together, watching TV together, planning our weekends, buying stuff for our flat, organising, inviting friends and family to stay – we’ve gone all domestic.

Go on, put your hands up who thought for a moment that we’d broken up? We’ve both had a lot of good fortune since last summer. I have seen an explosion in work and Mirror Image got a new job. Since new year, it has been financially viable for us to live together and in February, we began the process to do just that. We recently signed the contract on an apartment and now we get to wake up next to each other every morning. I get to watch her go off to work and I have my own space in the apartment including a room that is my office.

Keep reading because I’m sure there will be plenty of stuff for me to write about over the coming months and please stick with me on the journey of the next stage of my life.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

3 thoughts on “No Longer in an LDR

  1. Long distance relationships are hard and usually end badly. It’s great you two were able to beat the odds and have moved in together. Best of luck to you both

Leave a Reply

