Posted in Gender

Message from a European Left Wing Anti-Feminist: “Man Guilt” Not Enough for Clinton Victory

Like any right thinking human, I find Donald Trump absolutely abhorrent. His insistence that sexual assault is just “locker room talk” doesn’t have a single shred of justification. We know what locker room talk is, it’s crass but we have all done it and do – women included. Sexual assault and rape is not it.

I’ve been following the Presidential debates but I haven’t followed most of the campaign. What concerns me is that Hilary Clinton is doing everything she can to appeal to the woman’s vote – naturally. However, as gender politics in the USA concerns me deeply. I think it is at a very toxic place and neither side can claim a lack of guilt, total innocence or that the other side is totally responsible. MRAs and feminists are fuel for each other’s fires which is why I keep out and remain equally critical of both sides, as much as some of my readers and comments don’t like it.

Something struck me the other day about how this election is framed from a gender perspective. In the last debate, Clinton focused heavily on “Trump’s treatment of women”, pointing out everything he had done, said or acted upon. From a European perspective, continually pointing out Trump’s misogyny is (naturally) trying to destroy his reputation as a presidential candidate. In the end, it may be that he destroys his own campaign. From a male perspective, it seems she is relying heavily on “Man Guilt”. I have to ask the question “what is Hilary Clinton doing to appeal to men who are not feminists?”

Trump does not speak for me, my male friends or family members and I doubt he speaks for the majority of American men either. So I have to ask, what exactly is Hilary Clinton doing to appeal to the male vote? You might argue that she doesn’t need to do so because Trump is destroying his own campaign, but all that does is give the majority of men a reason to vote for someone other than Trump. It doesn’t give them a reason to vote for Clinton besides “she’s not Donald Trump”.

As the UK has learnt in the last few years, politicians should never underestimate the power of the protest vote. The rise of UKIP and now this disastrous move to leave the European Union is the result of politician complacency, leaving some groups feeling ignored and disenfranchised and willing to shit in their own beds to prove a point.

Assuming that Hilary Clinton is going to win this, she has an opportunity to reach out the olive branch – to create a presidency for everyone. She has an opportunity to prevent female supremacists in the feminist movement to claim victory. Hilary Clinton needs more than appealing to “Man Guilt” to carry this. She needs to encourage men to understand that she is not their enemy.

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

6 thoughts on “Message from a European Left Wing Anti-Feminist: “Man Guilt” Not Enough for Clinton Victory

  1. he didn’t say anything about rape or sexual assault. but you keep virtue signaling

    as for Hillary she said “women have always been the primary victims of war” she doesn’t care about men or their deaths. she said “what difference does it make” when it came to the men who died at the embassy. “listen & believe” was on her website until Juanita showed up again.

    1. he didn’t say anything about rape or sexual assault

      He doesn’t wait to kiss them. It’s ok to grab their pussies? You don’t think it’s assault not to wait for permission? All of the women who have come forward recently to say they had received unwanted sexual advances from Trump? You think they’re all lying?

      He’d date his own daughter if she wasn’t his daughter. He told an 11 year old girl he’d be dating her in 10 years.

      Tell me, is there anything Trump can do that would put you off this guy? Would cooking and eating a puppy on TV be enough or would you find a way to suggest that he’s still better than Clinton?

      she doesn’t care about men or their deaths

      It’s helpful to read a post first before commenting.

  2. You are asking some really good questions. I wish I had an answer. Personally I wished we had different candidates running.
    Personally I think Hillary Clinton is hypocrite talking about Trump’s bad behavior. Her silence on her own husband’s past makes her no friend of women to me. I suppose if she hadn’t stood by her man though her chances at becoming President would have lessened.
    I think education would be a good place to start as a possible issue for men. I have one kid that has graduated high school and one more left. I don’t have much hope though, especially for kids that come from disadvantaged backgrounds.
    Considering she said she would put about half of Trump supporters into a “basket of deplorables”, I’m not sure that she cares about extending an olive branch. It sort of reminds me of when Obama marginalized the “guns and religion” people.
    I’d have to look over Hillary’s platform, but I don’t think every female necessarily agrees that Hillary’s platform represents what is important to them.
    I’m thinking about a third party candidate but I am really not sure.

    1. I’m not sure she’s open to that olive branch either. I’m glad I don’t have to make that decision, voting for Hilary on the basis that she’s the least worst option.

  3. What annoys me about Hillary is that her campaign seems to be based around “Trump shouldn’t be president because of XYZ”, rather than “You should vote Hillary because XYZ”. I agree though, if I was American I think I’d just rip up my ballot paper in protest.

    1. Exactly. It’s not inspiring at all. She is effectively telling the electorate “I’m your least worst option.” How is that going to engage new voters?

Leave a Reply

