Posted in Gender

Why Isn’t Your Content Gender Neutral?

I’ve been asked this question several times in comments and through emails. I roll my eyes every time I see it, and for several reasons. Often, these comments point out that I will have a “broader audience if you did it that way.” I suspect that their concern is far less about my outreach than it is about being offended at criticisms of women’s negative attitudes and actions and how they affect men.

So I am always compelled to ask if they have made the same suggestion to, say, Jezebel or Feministing. I strongly suspect not. I also strongly suspect that they would never challenge the lack of gender neutrality of articles that are critical of men or men’s actions. I have also seen this attitude on Good Men Project. GMP is gender neutral and often they are dishearteningly so. Their broad audience arguably means that they need to be critical of attitudes towards men, and how women reinforce it, by using vital gendered language. GMP never has a problem posting articles critical of men, yet on the odd occasions it posts articles critical of women, posters demand to know why the language is not gender neutral.

The main reason I do not make my content gender neutral is that there is already tonnes of relationship and gender blogs and content that is gender neutral. I have no qualms pointing out that this is a site for men’s issues. I have personally gone through some of the issues I discuss and wish to help men going through the same or to talk with men who have been through the same things I have.

Secondly, my lack of gender neutrality (and that some are offended at my lack of gender neutrality) demonstrates one of the major problems of being a man – people want to minimise your suffering or pretend it doesn’t exist. The content and wording on this blog may make you uncomfortable, but that doesn’t mean my points are not relevant. There is often a deliberate attempt to pretend that men do not have difficulties, that there are no unique challenges of being a man. This is the damaging attitude I am trying to challenge.

Thirdly, I am not a typical MRA. In fact, I am not an MRA at all. I am politically towards the left wing for starters. I do care about men’s issues. I appreciate that there are men who want to read content relevant to them that is not loaded with socially conservative language that rails against “liberals” and climate change – issues completely irrelevant to gender.

Everybody is welcome here and everybody is welcome to comment. But please do not tell me how to run my blog  🙂

Author:

I go by the name of Frank Speaking. My blog "In the Mind of Men" (former name Chin Up, Chest High) started out as a chronicle of my mental health recovery. Now it is a forum where I discuss issues related to male mental health.

2 thoughts on “Why Isn’t Your Content Gender Neutral?

  1. One of the reason I started my blog when I did was because there was so little information online about men going through divorce and men’s health issues. I had ultimately hope to network out to other men who were going through some of the same experiences that I was.

    The only thing I will tell you CUCH, about running your blog is to “keep up the good work”!

    1. Thanks Rob! And you too. I started my blog for the same reason. I don’t think you were around for my first blog (it was called 30 something and divorcing), but I made it clear from the beginning that I wanted to reach out to other men. That has always been my reason for blogging. You’re absolutely right that there is little content for men. Most of it is socially conservative/MRA (which I’m not) that has an agenda beyond merely discussing men’s issues.

Leave a Reply

